Burberry

Where did brand story begin?

The starting point of the story is Basingstoke, the city located in the southwest of London. In 1856, 21-year-old Thomas Burberry, a former tailor apprentice, starts a brand whose mission is to protect people from the vagaries of British weather.

Where and when did the first boutique open?

The same year, in 1856, was opened the first T. Burberry and Sons boutique. A decade later, the outerwear represented there began popular not only with locals but with foreigners as well. In 1879, Thomas invented gabardine, a lightweight water-proof fabric.

In 1981 another boutique was opened in London, its main customers started to be officers, athletes and scholars. For instance, Nobel laureate Fridtjof Nansen used the brand’s equipment for an expedition to the North Pole. In the 1900s Burberry’s coats started to be appearing on Paris streets.

Who is the muse of the brand?

During the First World War the brand created almost half a million raincoats for the British army, which benefited greatly the further popularity among the civilian population as well. In 1955 Elizabeth II granted the brand the warrant for the supply of waterproof clothing. The Queen can be called the brand's genuine muse since it is she who reflects its DNA like no other: her unmistakable authentic English style, as well as a proactive way of life.

There are other fancy ladies, whose names are regarded as being related to the brand. So, Audrey Hepburn, or rather her character Holly from "Breakfast at Tiffany's" and Genevieve performed by Catherine Deneuve from "Umbrellas of Cherbourg" will forever bring their celebrated trench coat into the fashion history. The most up-to-date muses of Burberry (in 1999 the logotype lost the last letter), which creative director became Riccardo Tisсi in 2018, are Natalya Vodianova and Irina Shayk – they are the regular models to be seen in advertising campaigns and on the runway. Burberry history might remember such celebrated names as: Emma Watson, Rosie Huntington-Whiteley, Cara Delevingne, Naomi Campbell, Kate Moss.

What item is brand’s trademark?

Along with the above-mentioned trench coat, their celebrated check pattern went down in fashion history. The first time this celebrated check pattern appeared in 1920 on a coat lining, and then, as we know, it decors the entire brand range from cosmetic bags, key chains to shirts and down parkas.

What role has brand played for the fashion industry?

For the entire industry, this fashion house has become a great example of a business perspective. The British understood how important it is to catch up with the time and not to be afraid of changes back in 2006 - then Angela Arends became the CEO of the company and contributed into a number of substantial changes.

The three main brand’s achievements include:
  1. Changes in product mix
  2. Development of new markets: China, India, UAE and USA
  3. Great emphasis on social networks which tend to neglected by the "luxury" brands

So, for seven years and a half, sales grew almost three times more as well as the capitalization which increased by 300%.

Address Burberry: Moscow, Kutuzovskiy prospect, 48 - «Vremena Goda» Galleries , 1 floor

Burberry

Элегантный Британский стиль в мужской и женской одежде, аксессуарах, часах, украшениях и парфюмерии. Визитная карточка марки — клетчатый узор из красного, черного и белого на бежевом и, конечно — бежевый тренч.
С чего началась история бренда?

Отправной точкой маршрута становится город Бейзингстоук, расположенный на юго-западе от Лондона. Там в 1856 году 21-летний Томас Берберри, бывший подмастерье портного, основывает бренд, миссия которого – защищать людей от капризов британской погоды.

Где и когда открылся первый бутик?

В том же году открывается первый бутик T. Burberry and Sons. Уже через десятилетие представленная там верхняя одежда стала пользоваться спросом не только у местных жителей, но и у иностранцев. В 1879 году Томас изобретает габардин – легкую водоотталкивающую ткань.

В 1981 году открывается бутик в Лондоне, главными клиентами которого стали офицеры, спортсмены и исследователи. Например, нобелевский лауреат Фритьоф Нансен использовал их экипировку для экспедиции на Северный полюс. В 1900х Burberry’s появляется на улицах Парижа.

Кто является музой бренда?

Во время Первой мировой войны бренд создает почти полмиллиона плащей для британской армии, что помогает ему стать популярнее среди гражданского населения. В 1955 Елизавета II вручает бренду ордер на поставку водонепроницаемой одежды. Королеву можно назвать настоящей музой бренда, ведь она как никто отражает его ДНК: ни с чем не спутываемый английский стиль и активный образ жизни.

Есть и другие представительницы прекрасного пола, чьи имена прочно связывают с брендом. Так Одри Хепберн, точнее ее героиня Холли из фильма «Завтрак у Тиффани» и Женевьева в исполнении Катрин Денев из «Шербурских зонтиков» навсегда вносят их тренч в историю. К современным музам Burberry (в 1999 эмблема теряет последнюю букву), креативным директором которого в 2018 становится Риккардо Тиши, относятся Наталья Водянова и Ирина Шейк– именно этих моделей чаще других мы видим в рекламных кампаниях и на подиумах. Также история помнит Эмму Уотсон, Рози Хантингтон-Уайтли, Кару Делевинь, Наоми Кэмпбелл и Кейт Мосс.

Какой предмет является визитной карточкой бренда?

Наравне с вышеупомянутым тренчем в историю моды прочно вписывается их знаменитая клетка. Впервые она появляется в 1920 году на подкладке пальто, а дальше, как мы знаем, украшает весь ассортимент бренда от косметичек и брелков до рубашек и пуховиков. И становится его визитной карточкой.

Какую роль бренд сыграл для индустрии моды?

Для индустрии Дом является примером и с точки зрения бизнеса. О том, как важно идти в ногу со временем и не бояться перемен англичане поняли еще в 2006 году – тогда генеральным директором компании становится Анжела Арендс и вносит ряд серьезных изменений. Три главных ее достижения:

  1. Изменение ассортимента продуктов
  2. Начало освоения новых рынкови: Китай, Индия, ОАЭ и США
  3. Большой упор на обделенные вниманием «люкса» соцсети

Так за семь с половиной лет продажи выросли почти в три раза, а капитализация на 300%.

Адрес Burberry: Москва, Кутузовский проспект, 48 - Галереи «Времена Года» , 1 этаж